Edmonton Public School Board selects Board Chair

This afternoon, the Edmonton Public Schools Board of Trustees held its first meeting of the new school year, which included determining Trustee roles and responsibilities. As an integral part of local government, Trustees advocate for students and help guide the work of public education in our city. The important role of Trustees is reflected in their respective committees and assignments.

Effective immediately, the following Trustees will serve in four key board positions for the 2011-2012 school year:

Chair of the Board – Dave Colburn

Vice-Chair of the Board – Sarah Hoffman
Conference Committee Chair – Michael Janz
Audit Committee Chair – Michael Janz

A complete listing of Committees of the Board and Representatives on Committees for 2011-2012 is available at www.epsb.ca/trustees/.

In addition, for the first time, the Board has moved to formally schedule their meetings to the daytime.

“Holding afternoon meetings reflects our commitment to best meet the needs of the Board,” says Chair Colburn. “Even more importantly, it will create a better balance both personally and professionally for our dedicated Central Services staff, who would often stay for an extended period of time during evening Board meetings.”

Further information, contact:
Media Relations line, 780-429-8282